• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Newbie Dwarf Cichlids Questions

bobo31

5 Year Member
Hello all,

I am new to this msg board and was hoping to get some general questions answered. I am intersted in keeping South American Dwarf Cichlids. However the only Cichlids that I have ever keep are Oscars, firemouths, Jack Demp, and Convicts.

Here are my tank params.
30gal. heavily planted. w/ 3.8wpg and CO2
ph - 6.9
KH - ~7
Gh - ~6
sand substrate

I would like to house apistos in this tank. However I don't know how many which ones or anything. I am not interested in breeding them at the moment so I would like to have as many different species as possible.

What compatability issues do I have to look out for?
Are some more aggressive than others?
Do they require hiding places like Africans?
Can they be housed with rams?

other inhabitants will include cory cats, ottos, and somekind of tetras(maybe lemons or rummynose).

Thanks for the help in advance. :p
Robert.

Randall

5 Year Member
Apisto Set Up

Dear Bobo,

Welcome!

From the information you gave, it sounds like your water may be a little on the hard side for many Apistogramma species. A trio (1 male & 2 females) of A. borellii or A. cacatuoides, however, should thrive. Due to potential social conflicts, I wouldn't recommend putting more than a trio of one Apisto species in a 30-gallon tank. I think your idea of adding otocinclus sp., corys and some small tetras as dithers to the mix is excellent.