• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New to Apistos

kajacksonjr

Hey everyone. I'm new to Apistos but have had freshwater tanks for years. Was thinking it's about time to try and keep a nice Apistos pair. I'm from NY lower Westchester. Looking forward to learning more before taking the plunge and this looks like a great space. Here is a pic of the tank I'll probably be housing them in any thoughts are welcomed.
PXL_20220902_010147196.jpg

MacZ

Welcome to the board.

Nice looking tank, sadly not suitable for Apistogramma, except if you get a single specimen. Look around on the forum for how to correctly structure and setup an Apistogramma tank. Breaking lines of sight is highly important.

Something specific to your setup, what I just noticed: You have Seiryu rocks in your tank. Even if you take a domestic variant of a whitewater spoecies, rmove them and replace them with wood. The stuff raises KH and with it pH.
Also the preferred substrate for all dwarf cichlids is fine sand.

Here I have written in some more detail about this and linked to another thread with explanations.

anewbie