• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Is this normal

R

rachael

:?:

I'm new to fish keeping and hope you can give me some advice.

I bought some A. cacatuoides last week - a male and 3 females. Since getting them home all they have done is fight. Two of the females have turned bright yellow and fight with each other. The other female hides at the other end of the tank. One of the yellow females is fighting with the male a lot.

Is this normal?? Will they harm each other?? Is my tank big enough - its 4' long.

Neil

rachael,

WELCOME TO THE FORUM

If you are new to fishkeeping, you are in for some fun choosing a cichlid for your first fish (Apistogramma cacatuoides). 3 females and 1 male in a 4' tank are great. Cacatuoides is a harem spawner, which means that the females will usually find a spot in the tank to set-up-house and the male will roam from one females territory to the next to "service" them. They are cave'brooders, which means that they prefer to have a cave of some type to lay their eggs on the roof of.
When the female turns yellow, it means that they are ready for reproduction or have already laid eggs. 2 females that are fighting are competing for space and the male and will probably work their differences out when a hierarchy of dominance is established. No intervention on your part is necessary, unless they fight so aggressively that there is serious injury. One will give up before that happens.