• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Are my tank mates compatible?

Suzn

Hi. I am new to having dwarf cichlids. My set up is 50 gallons ( 190 liters ) I have a pair of German Blue Rams, a pair of Hongsloi Apistos, 3 Laetacara curviceps , 3 Male Dwarf Gaurami an Albino Bristlenose Pleco, 6 Neon Tetra and a small variety of Cory Catfish.
My tank is planted and has many hiding places ( drift wood, hollowed log, lava rock cave etc). I also have many flat stones along the bottom on top of the medium corse sand. What is your opinion of my set up and compatibility of tank mates. I want to create the best possible habitat for my babies. They are all young still.
(Only about 1" to 1 1/2" ). Thanks for any input you might have.

dw1305

5 Year Member
Hi all,
You probably know this already, but at some point fairly soon, as your fish grow, you will have too many Cichlids, and too many bottom orientated fish all together, if any of your cichlids try to breed. Personally I'd go for just one species of cichlid, or at the most 2. Both the Cories and the Neon Tetras are likely to fall foul of the Apistogramma or the Laetacara if these breed.
Rams tend to be less effective in defence of their fry. The situation with the ABN is slightly different in that it will definitely eat any eggs of the Laetacara and Rams, and may eat the eggs and or wrigglers of the Apistogrammas if it can get in the cave, but the cichlids aren't likely to be able to do the ABN much damage.

cheers Darrel

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member