• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Apistogramma identification guide?

So I know this may be a stupid question and someone will likely have some smartass answer, but is there any decent identification guide to the Apistogramma genus? I ask because, as a wildlife biologist, I frequently use dichotomous keys and field guides to aid in the identification of native plants and animals, fishes included. However, I know these are written and compiled much easier because the collection of US organisms is easier and more accessible. Regardless, are there any decent guides to this genus, or should I just stick to the articles by M. Wise, personal acquisitions through breeders and shops, and whatever I can find online/here to help learn the species?

P.S. - not as concerned with bred varieties and color morphs. I’m just curious as to the various species (described and undescribed).

Thanks!

Apistoguy52

Yeah, that. ^^^

CA1, and CA2 Romer, are probably as good as it’s going to get for stateside availability, even if they are dated. Tomc.no is pretty incredible in breadth, but not really a guide per se.

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member
A genetic tests appear to be the only true method to accurately ID some apistos. Recent genetic studies point to the possibility that every micro-environment in the Amazon could potentially house its own distinct species, meaning there could be thousands of apisto species. See: Estival et al. 2023. Exceptional Genetic Differentiation at a Micro-geographic Scale in Apistogramma agassizii (Steindachner, 1875) from the Peruvian Amazon: Sympatric Speciation? Evolutionary Biology 50(3).