• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Will Levamisol affect my plants?

crimsonrain

5 Year Member
I am going to the store to get levamisol to treat Camallanus in my tank. will it kill my plants? Should i take them out for the treatment or is it ok?

farm41

5 Year Member
If it is made for aquariums, the label should state whether it is harmful or not.

sorry, I have no experience with that particular product.

dhm325

5 Year Member
Levamisol is used by farmers to deworm their animals (i.e., pigs, sheep, etc.,). It is not intended for use in aquariums. I have not seen it for sale in pet stores. Flubendazole is used to treat humans. However, both work well in the aquarium. Flubendazole did not hurt my plants when I tried it. The tank I treated with Levamisol did not have plants. You can buy Flubendazole from JEHMCO and Levamisol is avalaible from agricultural products distributers. I bought mine on line.

aquabillpers

5 Year Member
If you are treating fish with a drug to cure a medical problem, you should do that in a separate tank to avoid any unwanted side affects on other tank inhabitants.

Regards,

Bill

aquabillpers

5 Year Member
You might have to treat all of your fish, but in the process you might be harming the plants, invertebrates, and bacteria. It is also possible that the medication might leave a chemical residue in the tank that will cause trouble later.

It is safer and easier to treat the fish in a separate container.

BTW, I'm sure that your fish store advisor in very knowledgeable, but that would put him or her in the minority of fish store advisors.

Bill

Dan724

5 Year Member