• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Water question

R

Reiner

I just got my water tested and my Nitrite is at a danger level according to the test strip. My PH is at 8.0 but the water is alkaline and fairly hard. What should I do about the Nitrite and what can I use to get the water softer. Thanks for any replies. Since this is my first post I also let you guys know the size and occupants of my tank and I would like to add that I'm very new to cichlids but find myself quiet a lot on the internet lately to do research about them. And that's how I found out about this website.
My tank is 30 gallon 4 feet long 14 inches high and about 10 inches deep. I have in there right now 3 blue Gouramies, 3 Buenos Aires Tetras, 2 Angel, 1 Chinese algea eater and one Firemouth cichlid about 1 1/2 inches big. I found some Altispinosa's in my LFS and would like to add a pair as soon as I get my water in better condition. My tank is also set up with artifical plants and I'm building them more caves right now which will go in the water by next week so I should have about 4 caves then. That's all for right now please help me out with my water problem. Thanks

Eva32181

5 Year Member
Do a water change. Standard advice is to change 25% of the water once a week, or more often if your tanks are crowded or your fish are delicate. There are few problems that a regular schedule of water changes can't solve.

farm41

5 Year Member
I usually change 40-50% weekly, but then, I am on well water and I use it right out of the tap, no conditioning. No cost involved, as some fish keepers I know have to condition their water and it can get expensive.