• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Viejita Red or cacatuoides?

SKAVENCLOWNLOACH

Hey first time posting here,
I have a 29g tank set up that I want to keep apistos and pencil fish.
Im new to apistos but not new to fish keeping and have a few questions ,my store has a few species but I like these two.
I was thinking 2 pairs or trio 1m and 2f of the same species
What is the ideal number to get if im hoping for a breeding pair?
Is there any difference in difficulty to breed between viejita and cacatuoides?
Any tips are welcome!

MacZ

What is the ideal number to get if im hoping for a breeding pair?
A pair. In a 29 gallon there is not enough room for a trio, not to mention two pairs. And even with a pair you will have to have good structure, so the fish can evade each other if necessary. For breeding purposes I would try and have a second tank (10gallon) cycled and running so the fish can be separated if aggression is too much.

Is there any difference in difficulty to breed between viejita and cacatuoides?
As you call them Viejita Red in the Thread title, you likely mean the domestic strain of A. macmasteri that goes by that name. Somebody thought it would be a great idea and yield better prices to call that strain viejita, although A. macmasteri is a separate species. Real Viejita are rare and depending on where you live also expensive. Likely you are also eyeballing a domestic strain of A. cacatuoides, so both should be breeding readily. More a question of when, not if.

anewbie