• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Not moving

thai

I have a Apistogramma cacatuoides orange flash that is just laying there on the bottom of the tank behind a piece of driftwood. He has been acting this way for at least 2-3 days. I am new to them and not sure if this is normal behavior. I am very concerned right now and not sure what I can do.

I am feeding him bloodworms by just dropping it into the tank. Is there a certain way that they need to be fed? I don't have much time to watch him because I have to go to work but while I am watching him he is not going after the bloodworms.

Any clue on on what to do would really help.

Thanks

Crazygar

5 Year Member
Thai, is this a newly constructed tank? Some water parameters would be nice, whatever it is, it sounds like stress until we can get more information. Apistos are active, investigative fish, this is abnormal behaviour.

Does his colours look faded as well? Fins clamped?

Gary

thai

This tank has been up and running for a few years now. The apisto has only been in there for about 1.5 weeks. I do not have water parameters right now (at work) and haven't taken any in a while. I will try to do it when I get home.

His color doesn't seem to be faded but it's pretty hard to view him because he is laying on the substrate and behind a driftwood. So I can only see parts of him.

What do you mean by clamped fins? Is it tucked close to his body? I think it is.

Crazygar

5 Year Member