• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

newbie... need advise...

ptite_ange

5 Year Member
Hi all,
i'm kinda new to the fish world; i've only had my tanks for a year now and althought i do quite a bit of reading i still have questions... lots of them! I apologize ahead of time for the lenght of my post :wink:

So, august first a friend and i bought 19 young caccatuoides from someone on another forum. They live alone in a 20 gal tank with a lot of hiding places. I feed and count them twice a day with microworms (whites worms kept in a mix of oatmeal, sugar and sugar), various powdered flake , powdered krill, and a powdered mix from Sera. Usually a dozen or so of the bigger ones come out to feed at the surface. The smaller fish stay at the bottom and grab the bits and pieces. I try to clean the gravel every 2-3 weeks and change 10% of the water every week. (from what i read elsewhere it should be a lot more...)

The fish are from 3 differents couples : the first litter was born in march of a wild/triple red couple. They are just over 1" with no other color than bold black stripes. I have maybe (i hope) 4-5 of those.
The second litter was born in april of a double red pair. They are a bunch of those, maybe 8-9. Those guys are almost like their "big brothers" almost 3/4 and their stripes are paler. As for the last litter, they were born in june of a double red/triple red pair... They are still quite small only 1/4". I don,t know how many their are because they are so hard to find ...

So when can i expect to see some actual color on these babies? Should they be bigger and what can i do to help them grow?