• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New to Apistos: Cacatuoides in 20g long

Molino

5 Year Member
I'm new to Apistos, I just got a 20 gallon long tank and am considering putting some cacatuoides in. As there is quite a bit of ground space (30*12") in a 20 gallon could I put 1 or 2 males and twice as many females, or is this too much for the territory. I understand cacatuoides are some of the best beginner apistos and may even breed.

I was also considering some tankmates, to make it a community tank, that wouldn't bother the apistos too much and possibly a small pleco (I know some varieties only get 3-4").

Any suggestions would be helpful.

Randall

5 Year Member
New to Apistos

Dear Molino,

Congratulations on deciding to start with your first Apistogramma species! Cacatuoides is an excellent first choice as well.

In a 20-long, it might be best to purchase a young(er) trio (1 male and 2 females) and allow them to establish breeding territories in time. Each female should have her own cave or cave like structure, preferably at opposite ends of the tank. Dither fish, like small tetras or a few pencil fish are also a good idea. As for the pleco, I vote for some Otocinclus sp. instead. They're far less invasive and won't eat your Apisto's eggs.

Good luck!

All the best,

Randall Kohn

R

Ricochet

Randall,

Could you recommend several LFS's in the northern NJ or Westchester/NYC area that have a decent selection of apistos?

Thanks.

Randall

5 Year Member
LFR's in NNJ

Dear Ricochet,