• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

New member,Apistogramma SP Apache/Painted Face.

Microman

5 Year Member
Hello,my name is Mark , I am from Shropshire,England,and I am new to computing so bear with me.Having never been on any sort of forum before I really dont know what sort of feedback to expect but here we go.
I recently attended the British Cichlid Associations A.G.M.and conference and during the auction managed to aquire some Apistogramma SP Apache/Painted Face(1 male,3 female).They are wild specimens.
Are these the same as the fish named Cara Pintada?What are their requirements for maintenance and do they have a willingness to breed readily?
I hope somebody out there can help and I apologise for babbling on a bit but it is my first post,Thankyou.

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member
Mark,

Your A. sp. Apache probably are the same fish that has been sold as A. sp. Carapintada (Spanish for 'Painted Face"). I try to get people ot avoid the Carapintada name because 2 different species have been sold under this name. I prefer to use the name A. sp. Masked/Masken only because it is the name originally used for the fish that you have. As for breeding A. sp. Masked, they are relatively easy, requiring slightly acid, moderately soft water to successfully reproduce. My personal experience with this species is that the the males can be hard on females that aren't ready to breed. I even have to remove my male while my female broods her fry. I only have a pair in a 15 gallon tank. In a larger tank with 3 females to keep the male occupied, things might work out differently.

Microman

5 Year Member
Thanks Mike,