• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Need help sexing my apisto cac. Orange flash

Lhagamuchi

Hello, I am new to cichlids :) have kept fw fish for several years but need some help with my brand new apistos. I know this has been discussed many times but it seems like I might have two males or two females. Unsure which. One is larger, more orange and more aggressive (constant chasing and tail slapping). The other has a yellow tinge and more rounded back fin but similar otherwise. She does not seem too bothered by the other one, just swims away and has not hidden at all.

first photo is supposed male on left. Second is supposed female. Third is supposed male again.

thanks!

Attachments

• 345C09CE-D8A6-4AD5-8033-403378EEE092.jpeg
    345C09CE-D8A6-4AD5-8033-403378EEE092.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 113
  • 6C42AF18-C70F-471A-9541-688D5DAE1EC0.jpeg
    6C42AF18-C70F-471A-9541-688D5DAE1EC0.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 122
  • 02A5CB5C-103A-4E43-83AE-8E334145DFD4.jpeg
    02A5CB5C-103A-4E43-83AE-8E334145DFD4.jpeg
    2.4 MB · Views: 108

Lhagamuchi

Thank you so much for the response Mike! Yes these are domestic and local bred - they are actually so close to each other in coloration even the fish shop was unsure. I didn’t see them easing up on the chasing and displaying so I was wondering if they’re the same gender or maybe I got a sneaker male.

anewbie

Outside Europe sponge filters (Lufthebefilter) are the norm, Eddy.