• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Nano reef

Neil

Now we are into a subject that I have a serious bug for. I currently have an 18g. and a 30g. I am not an expert in this area, but I could probly offer some assistance. We also have, at least, one other member here that can give good directions in reef tanks - Graham.
How small are you thinking? And what are you planning to keep?
Neil

DigitalBoy

5 Year Member
Ok

I am planning to have a 10 gallon nano-reef. I am hoping to convert my freshwater 10 gallon, because I get hair algae in it and can't really get rid of it. From what I've learnt nano reef if properly set up could be pretty low maintenance and still stable.

DigitalBoy

5 Year Member
Planning to keep

I am planning to have the following setup: 10 pounds of live rock, 5 pounds of base rock, 10 hermits and 10 snails and a clarky clown fish. Does that sound reasonable?
Thanks.

cmoreash

5 Year Member
Hey, I am setting up a 29 gallon reef tank, a bit too large to be considered a nano i guess. http://www.nano-reef.com This site is the best site i have found for nano reef info. The Forums are very informative, and friendly. When are you setting yours up? I am going away for the summer, so I have to wait until I return to set up mine. Good luck, Dmitriy!

Neil

That sounds fine for a start. Let me give you a few other things to consider.