• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

My first Apisto. A agassizii Double Red

Coursair

I'm not new to fish, but I am new to Apistos. I bought an Aggie Double Red yesterday. I have a well established heavily planted 10g that I put him in. He's looking bright and alert and was hunting for food this morning.

I had hoped for a pair, but was told a 10g would be too small. So he is the only fish currently. There are Snails and some leftover clear Cherry Shrimp. I pulled out a massive amount of Dwarf Sag last week. So still some mulm on the substrate and I'm still cleaning front glass.

I read that beginner species are Cacs and McMasteri...is an Aggie more difficult ? This store has a lot of Apistos. I picked what I thought was a Common and easy variety.

Please let me know your thoughts. I'm willing to get a bigger tank for a pair if he does well for me.

04fd4fe71d1c5d7234307645d5b20601.jpg
6ca795d7806dcd808de57d794237af25.jpg
3befa365a0d3bb47713efa5bad101c6a.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Coursair

I have access to Zero TDS water from my Zero Water dispenser that I got for my Canivorous Plants.

I have access to Peat as well.

Current temp is 75°F
I did a major water change before I acclimated him.

Coursair

I got him a little cave. And he ate a frozen bloodworm for me.
I love this little fish. He's maybe 1.5" currently. I look forward to his adult colors.

00520e89be28eac34bc4bee0fe1864bd.jpg

Please excuse the GSA on the glass. This has been a neglected plant tank for months.

He likes his cave
233189414ea41cca6686848fa8224958.jpg

He appreciates the small side exit as well
83dfa05c11322b23e67accf8dc65338c.jpg