• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Mixing Apistos with Rainbow Cichlids

notabob

Hi everyone. Have been keeping fish for about the past 20 years, but I'm new to Apistos specifically (and this forum).

I have been looking to introduce Apistos to my 53G (36x18x20). The tank is currently home to a grown (~3") paired couple of Rainbow Cichlids (Archocentrus multispinosus). Lots of driftwood, rocks, caves, and plants are starting to fill in. Line of sight breaks are numerous. Four YoYo loaches and a BN pleco on the bottom. Neon Tetras mid-level and Espeii Rasboras at the top make up the dither contingent.

My main concern before sourcing the Apistos is making sure that they can peacefully coexist with the Rainbows in such a footprint. The Rainbows have been very peaceful with other fish, although they do both chase intruders (mostly the YoYo's, who don't seem to get the message much) when spawning. I'm considering either A. cacatuoides and/or A. hongsloi at this time. I would love to keep a pair of each (as they are from different lineages), but while this might be possible with just the Apistos in there, I doubt it will be reasonable with the Rainbows in the mix in a tank this size.

Have other folks successfully kept these two types of fish together? What have been your experiences with them interacting? Have either become excessively aggressive towards the other during spawning? Thanks in advance!

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member