• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

How Much To Feed?

Ann

Hi, I am very new to having Apistos, I have 2 A. sp "Steel Blue". It looks to me like their bellies are a little sunken, I'm not sure if its my imagination or not, but I originally thought that it was because they weren't getting enough food. At the store they were in with fish who would outcompete them for food especially since they were always hiding so before any food would have time to sink and then time for them to notice it, it would be eaten by the other fish. But I've had them for almost 2 weeks now, have been feeding them twice a day and they don't look much different.
I want to make sure that I'm not feeding them TOO much as well. Is there a rule for how much to feed Apistos? I don't mean how often, I mean what volume of food should I be giving per day? For some fish their stomach is about the size of one of their eyes, is that true of Apistos? Do they have a particularly fast or slow metabolism? Thanks in advance.

dw1305

5 Year Member

Ann

I think I have a male/female pair. But they're in separate tanks right now while I get the larger one ready. However I was under the impression that two males could be kept together anyway if they're each given at least 10 gallons and a barrier is created between them. Is this not true? Also, these were CB in Massachusetts but I will still consider this possibility. Thanks for the info!

Ann