• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Hi! New here, from Kent, UK

broox159

Hi everyone, my name is Natalie. I am fairly new to fish and completely new to Apisto's after being pointed in their direction today when enquiring about stocking my new tank!
After googling them i found this site! I hope to learn lots about them and i will post my first question in the correct forum!

I currently have a 64L community tank and im getting a new tank on Sunday!

Look forward to learning lots about these beautiful fish and seeing LOTS of pictures! :)

Simon Morgan

5 Year Member
Hi Natalie, this is a great site for information on Apistogrammas but you might also be interested in the British Cichlid Association. There's a very active forum and lots of our members are breeders of Apistos.
www.britishcichlid.org.uk

First thing to learn about Apistos is that they need soft, acidic water. Are you lucky enough to have it on tap or will you need to buy or make RO water?

broox159

Thanks for the tip on the other website!

I think my water here could be a problem...sorry to sound dumb, and i feel i should already know this, but what is RO water?

Simon Morgan

5 Year Member
It's Reverse Osmosis. It's basically a form of water purification.
Most new cichlid keepers face a simple choice, keep cichlids to suit the water or keep water to suit the fish...

broox159

Ohhh, i see...so you can buy things to make RO water? Are they expensive? Or can you buy RO water from aquatics shops?

Simon Morgan

5 Year Member
Both. You can buy an RO Unit like this:

100_1625.jpg

Or you can buy it ready made usually 10 or 20 litres at a time for £2.50ish

Mike Wise