• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Finally got some!

Mk11wagn

Alright....

I have been keeping an eye out for some Apisto's for a few months now.... (Rather difficult to come across over here)

Well.... I managed to get my hands on some "A cacatuoides - super red" (that's what they have been sold to me as)

I have now got 10 juveniles ranging in size from nearly an inch down to half an inch.

At this stage I have put them all into a 100L tank with plenty of driftwood plants and caves.

Have a few questions.....

How long approx will they be able to live together like that?

When I can tell males/females I was planning on splitting them up..... Can say 5 males exist together in one tank and say 5 females in another? ( Wasn't planning on breeding at this stage because they are all from the same parents)

Also what's the best tank size for say 5 females?

No doubt I'll have another 50 questions tomorrow....

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member