• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Courting behavior for cacatuoides?

njmomie

5 Year Member
I am a beginner in apisto rearing so I have many questions. I bought what I thought at the time was a pair of cacatuoides. They never seem to be interested in each other. This weekend, my fish store had some more and I thought I would add two more females so the male would be happy...(we are only talking about fish now... :wink: ) Now, it is pretty clear that the two I had originally were both males because they are doing all sorts of funny stuff to the two new ones. They are puffing up, and shaking and following them around. The bigger male is also chasing the smaller male now. All of these are in a 12 gallon. What should I do?

Randall

5 Year Member
"Now, it is pretty clear that the two I had originally were both males because they are doing all sorts of funny stuff to the two new ones. They are puffing up, and shaking and following them around. The bigger male is also chasing the smaller male now. All of these are in a 12 gallon. What should I do?"

Dear Momie,

What should you do? Cheer!

The puffing up, shaking and following to which you refer sounds like courtship behavior. As one or both of your new females become receptive to the dominant male's goofing around, she will turn an intense bright yellow. When that happens, you may want to remove the other male, if you want him alive.