• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Compatability of Macmasteri

vie

Hi, I'm new to dwarf cichlids, not fishkeeping. I decided to try keeping a few in my 20 gallon community tank. The only fish in my tank are blue eyed rainbows and one female betta who pretty much minds her own business. I got two females and one male from an online source. They started out fine but I did notice one of the females was a bit aggressive with the smaller female and male. The male died within a week. It wasn't clear to me whether he was bullied to death or wasn't well. I thought it was the latter so I tried buying a male from my lfs. The moment he entered the tank, the one female went after him. I couldn't stand to watch so after a week I rehomed her. I thought everything would be alright but now the smaller female is going after the male and he hides most of the time. I don't think he'll make it if I don't remove her, too. Am I doing something wrong or are these cichlids better off alone? Everything I read suggested a pair but this is really difficult to watch.

Aquaticloch

First off sorry for your loss, also is this a 20 gallon tall or a 20 gallon long? This matters a lot, as the footprint is much more important than water volum.

yukondog

5 Year Member
Welcome johnathongardner, are you sure you have a M/F? If you could provide pictures it would help, but I can say I have a M/F [agassizii] and she is hell on wheels, you might try another female or rearrange the tank so they both have new territory's.

vie