• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Breeding advice

Andreas

I havent been on here for quite a while but I am coming back for some help. I have had a few apistos these last few year but mostly males. I decided I want to try breeding them. I have a pair of macmasterri in a 60 by 30 by 30 tank that is quite mature(probably a year/year and a half)
This pair has been in here for probably 3 months and I want to really attempt breeding them now. I am feeding them hikari pellets, frozen bbs and live mosquite larvae. What would be a proper procedure for me to follow now to get them to breed. I am also only breeding these as part of the hobby for me not to make money. I am using tap water (6,4 ph) and temp is set at 25 degrees very low nitrates as the stocking is only these 2 fish.
Pictures attached of tank and male and female.

Attachments

• 190ADE67-4B52-4D31-84A7-BC84E024203A.jpeg
    190ADE67-4B52-4D31-84A7-BC84E024203A.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 97
  • 952830A3-798E-42CA-9228-4A727529BB92.jpeg
    952830A3-798E-42CA-9228-4A727529BB92.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 97
  • 6EDC99FB-9467-4F90-8770-6D375CDC27F1.jpeg
    6EDC99FB-9467-4F90-8770-6D375CDC27F1.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 100

MacZ

The female is already in breeding mode. Water sounds great. Offer 2-3 caves, feed more live food (artemia nauplii, black mosquito larvae) and make sure you'll be able to remove the male after spawning, because the tank is quite small and the female might become too agressive.

That's all you have to do, otherwise you seem to be very much on the right track.

Andreas

Ah