• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Blue Ram Dad of the Year!!!!

vail94

5 Year Member
http://s244.photobucket.com/albums/gg30/vail94/fish/?action=view&current=BlueRamDad.flv
Here is a link to my recent sucess of having blue rams parent raise their fry. I once thought this impossible as i have been playing with rams off and on for 3 years and have never seen this happen. I know you want to know water parameters so here they are: 30 gallon bare bottom tank, 28C = mid 80'sF, 6.8PH, GH 9, 0 nitrite, 0 ammonia.

There were 7 rams total, 3 pairs and a bachelor when the one pair spawned they spawned in a flower pot which I could not see into as the opening was facing away from my line of site. Yes rams are substrate spawns but this pair like to do there duty in privacy.:wink: Then the pair moved the eggs without eating them (obviously) to the back corner of the tank all the while claiming almost half the floor space of the 30 gallon tall for themselves. Then they moved the wiggler the next day to the front corner of the tank at this point I was proud of them being able to move there family so well but there only appear to be 10 wigglers left so i was not that hopeful that the fry would actually go free swimming. Went down 2 days ago to feed and fiddle with fish and there were free swimming fry not a lot but enough that i started grabbing every camera or video camera in the house to get proof before they ate them. :eek: Like i said I have been playing with rams for a while.