• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

Are Long Tanks better for S.A. Cichlids?

Richard Tyll

5 Year Member
I am just beginning to research equipment & fish species to set up a tank in my home.
I used to have a 50 gal. tank with African cichlids 20+ years ago but, life changes led me to abandon keeping fish.
Now I'm retired, divorced & living alone so, I'd like a new hobby to enjoy.
I've become more interested in Dwarf Cichlids and given their natural environment, it seems a long, shallow tank would be best suited for them to thrive. Seems a well-stocked planted aquarium with sunken driftwood & leaf litter would be a more natural setting than a tall, open-spaced tank.
Another question would be filtration due to the length of the tank.
Would filtration at each end be best? Any other ideas on this problem?
I guess that would be my first question, whether my thinking on the matter is correct.
Next is where to find this style of an aquarium for sale or would it be more cost-efficient to build my own?
My thoughts would be a tank measuring 36"L x 12"W x 12"H
Naturally, I would accept whatever dimensions are available in a pre-assembled, store-bought tank.
My only problem with purchasing one is the shipping.
I live high up in the Beartooth Mountains of South-Central Montana.
The closest actual City is 100 miles one-way from my home.
Any & All suggestions are welcomed.

Last edited:

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member