• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

A.trifasciata

Apistomaster

5 Year Member
I managed to get a decent photo of one of my A. trifasciata.
Cichlid-3.jpg

An almost 5 month old male. Easy to see why this easy to breed and quick growing species is my most recommended "beginner's Apisto" but I'm no beginner and they are among my favorite species. The are not demanding of any particular water chemistry. They only ask that the water quality is high like all Apistogramma species. I have about 50 and the lot is skewed towards males but I still have at least 20 females to use to make sure I have a good supply of pairs next spring. I have been breeding this line for about 2 years.

ktluvsfish

Wow, what a beautiful male. A. Trifasciata is definitely one of the species I am interested in keeping in the future. I did not know they were considered a beginners apisto. That actually makes them more appealing to me since I have kept fish for years but have not kept many species of apistos. Good luck with your upcoming spawns :)

Apistomaster

5 Year Member
Out of about 50 fry, survivors of 2 different spawns, now that all are mature I only got about 6 females out that many fish.
This is the most skewed sex ratio I have personally ever obtained from any group of fry.
The only unusual thing about these is they happened to come from spawns in water in the lower 70's*F. I normally keep and breed them closer to 80 to 82*F and get a better balance of sexes. What this means is that I have far fewer breeders to use to obtain the number of pairs I am hoping to have ready by next spring.