• Hello guest! Are you an Apistogramma enthusiast? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Apisto enthusiasts to meet online. Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your fish and tanks and have a great time with other Apisto enthusiasts. Sign up today!

A. hoignei?

BigTom

Hi all,

Just picked up 6 fish sold as A. hoignei. They were a Czech import and could either be wild caught or captive bred.

I was reasonably happy with the ID in the shop but I'm not an expert and have noticed what look like one or two lateral spots since getting them home, which I believe would cast doubt on them being hoignei?

Anyway, expert opinions appreciated! Feel free to tell me to come back with better photos, they've only been in the tank a couple of hours. I have a much more colourful male and a pretty likely female also, but they're not pictured as I've seperated them into an unlit breeding tank.

Fish 1 -
LeteGK.jpg

hx6oiv.jpg

Fish 2 -
2Ep1Es.jpg

RQInfY.jpg

Fish 3 or 4 (not entirely sure which is which!)
0LceVl.jpg

IFe4eX.jpg
5M1qcI.jpg

Cheers,
Tom

Frank Hättich

5 Year Member
Hi Tom, imo your fish are in fact A. hoignei. The black markings on head and gill cover and the pattern/blotch at the rear end of the dorsal fin base are typical of A. hoignei.

BigTom

Thanks Frank! That sounds promising. I was just thrown by a comment prevously on this forum by Mike Wise stating that hoignei do not show a lateral spot, which these fish seem to do occasionally.

Mike Wise

Staff member
5 Year Member
It probably is A. hoignei, but it could be one of the new species separated from A. hoignei (A. intermedia or A. nororientalis). I'd need preserved specimens, or at least know where they were collected (if wild) to be sure.

BigTom